What’s the difference between borrow and lend?

10 May

To Borrow means:

To take something from someone, with their permission and with the intention of giving it back. (The past tense and past participle are borrowed.)

Can I borrow the car?

You can borrow a pen from him.

I need to borrow some money.

What happened to the books I borrowed from the library?

To Lend means: 

The opposite!

To give something to someone, with the expectation that he or she will return it. The past tense and past participle are lent.

Yes, I’ll lend you the car.

He’ll be happy to lend you a pen.

I can’t afford to lend you any money.

The library lent me those books three weeks ago.

 

Lend can also be used figuratively, to mean to contribute, impart, or offer:

The yellow wall will lend a feeling of warmth.

Your story lends itself to numerous interpretations.

 

Basically, borrow means “to take,” while lend means “to give.”

If you continue to have trouble with this, try substituting “take” for borrow and “give” for lend  – the correct word will immediately be clear.

Leave a comment